A Pot Pourri of Parades

Different places, different times, different reasons. Parades occur in all forms and sizes, in towns large and small, in Australia.  My collection progresses in time through  a coastal village, a capital city  and a smaller regional city.

I have posted this photo before , from Apollo Bay on the south western coast of Victoria.  It is probably the Anzac Day procession in 1917.
ABProcessionStreet

Move in place and time to Adelaide, the capital city of South Australia.  Each year they have a Christmas Pageant.  These  photos from the late 1950s  were given to me by a friend as her husband played  in the band – the South Australian Railway Institute Band – when marching in the Parade.

South Australian Railway Institute Band 1

 

 

 

 

 

South Australian Railway Institute Band 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like these photos because there was no need for barricades.

Then there is Bendigo  in Central Victoria  c 1967 and its marvellous annual Easter Parade

Here are my two little blondies  watching the parade and a pipe band passing by. Once again there are no barriers to keep the crowd back.  But the main attraction was always the splendid Chinese  dragon.

Bendigo Easter Parade c1966

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bendigo Easter Parade c1967 b

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How Bendigo came to be associated with a Chinese dragon is explained in this clip.

And to come right up to date, February 28th,  today Geelong had its annual Pako Fest parade , in Pakington St, celebrating culutral diversity.  Geelong Mayor’s Facebook page supplied this image.

Pako Fest

This is my collection of Parade photos.  Other examples of recollections of Parades past and present can be found at Sepia Saturday.

2015.02W.46

9 thoughts on “A Pot Pourri of Parades

  1. Mike Brubaker

    I don’t think I’ve seen many parade photos with such crowds spilling out the windows and onto the street! We can almost hear the band. I would love to see the Bendigo Easter parade and its Chinese dragons.
    And your Sepia Saturday link needs correction as it loops back to SS rather than here.

    Like

    Reply
  2. alanburnett1

    I am trying to think when I last saw a parade. In this part of the world they seem to be a dying tradition, which is a pity as they used to provide great opportunities for photography – as your pictures show.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Tattered and Lost

    My small town has a parade every year and I’ve never been to it. I’ve tried, but could never find parking. Maybe this year I’ll just have to put on my walking shoes and give it another try. Your photos have inspired me to realize what I’ve been missing.

    Like

    Reply

Your comments are most welcome. It's nice meeting you.