header 2

Clocks – for more than just telling the time

1509W.125A long time ago it was not necessary to open your iPhone to find out the time because you would have a watch on your wrist or, if indoors,  you would have a handsome clock on your mantelpiece, just as in the background of this group posed to have everyone looking in the same direction.  No posing was done in the next photo – someone off-stage is creating mirth.

XmasIt’s Christmas time about twenty years ago.  The house is my daughter’s, the man my son, the children his niece and nephew, and the clock had been part of my husband’s collection.  For clocks  and clock books were one of his hobbies. He collected a few, he studied their workings and took them to bits and then re-assembled them, he read about them and a couple of times constructed a new clock from pieces of old clocks.  Unfortunately no-one told me that one day in the future I would find a group called Sepia Saturday where photos play an important role and so few photos were taken.  (BTW, Jo, I knitted the cotton Father Xmas jumper.)

Here are some books and papers from his collection.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Back in the early 1980s there was this photo of my daughter with his home-made  wall clock.  It began with a re-cycled clock face, then there was a brand new pendulum with a brass weight.  My husband designed the wooden case and out of sight at the top of the clock was a square battery which was organized so that something clicked around and every 30 seconds made a connection which gave a nudge to the pendulum.  Just don’t ask me how that worked but it helped the clock to keep good time instead of slowing down.

Sally Clock 1980sEarlier still, in October of 1948, another clock in the background when  the Adelaide College of Music Drum and Fife Band performed   “My Grandfather’s Clock” at the Tivoli Theatre. in Adelaide.  Thanks to friends P and G Flynn for this image.

Grandfathers Clock 1948

My grandfather’s clock was too large for the shelf,
So it stood ninety years on the floor;
It was taller by half than the old man himself,
Though it weighed not a pennyweight more.
It was bought on the morn of the day that he was born,
And was always his treasure and pride;
But it stopped short never to go again,
When the old man died.

CHORUS:
Ninety years without slumbering, tick, tock, tick, tock,
His life seconds numbering, tick, tock, tick, tock,
It stopped short never to go again,
When the old man died.

Have a look at other blogs inspired by this week’s Sepia Saturday image.

14 thoughts on “Clocks – for more than just telling the time

  1. Little Nell

    Well, I am completely in awe – both of the clockmaking skills and your knitting. I’m a beginner and struggling with intarsia. I don’t know if I’ll ever knit a Christmas jumper.

    Like

    Reply
    1. jofeath

      I believe that in the UK they actually have an annual jumper day, when people wear fancy jumpers to work. Not necassarily handknitted though.

      Like

      Reply
      1. jofeath

        ps. I see it’s called National Christmas Jumper Day, so your jumper would be perfect. Not something that’s very likely to catch on here in December, I don’t think!

        Like

  2. Deb Gould

    Anybody who can make clocks is a clever soul, indeed! And I’d forgotten all about that song, which we used to sing all the time when I was little…thanks for that memory!

    Like

    Reply
  3. jofeath

    Some perfect matches here with those clocks! Your son had/has an interesting hobby, and your Father Christmas jumper is great. I knitted a few picture jumpers with birds for the girls and myself back in the days when they were fashionable. Maybe one day a suitable prompt will tempt me to blog a photo of the 3 of us.

    Like

    Reply
  4. La Nightingail

    I knit – but not like that! I’m impressed!!! That wall clock is gorgeous. What a talented fellow, your husband, & how lucky to have a hobby one not only loves, but excels at so beautifully. I have & have had clock collections, but never cared what was inside. Just their outer design. I had a friend whose husband was into clocks like your husband. They had all kinds of fancy clocks sitting on shelves or tabletops or hanging on the wall. You never wanted to be visiting them at noon, however.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Wendy

    I was hoping someone would do clocks. I wanted to do that myself but I couldn’t find any pictures of clocks that I hadn’t already covered during Sepia Saturday. Nice post!

    Like

    Reply

Your comments are most welcome. It's nice meeting you.

