Barwon Edge - 3 pools

From Eating In to Eating Out

2015.07A-26The idea of eating out at a cafe didn’t exist when i was growing up.  We ate at home, or sometimes had Sunday night tea at a friend’s house. Only on the occasional  visit to Melbourne would there be a modest meal in a cafe.   The Wattle Cafe springs to mind.

As a teenager I would be allowed a rare milk shake in a Milk Bar – but not a Malted milk, I didn’t like them.  And the height of luxury was a Banana Split for 9d (nine pence).  A potential luxury was the fish and chips shop but my mother didn’t trust the freshness of the fish as it had to be brought up from Melbourne.  The chips were another matter.  I adored them;  those lovely, dirty, tasty chips cooked in  fat which had  acquired a flavour all of its own.  I used to call them dirty chips as the chips my mother made were  so pale and golden and evenly toned, these days a food photographer’s delight.  But like the other treats dirty chips were a rarity.  (Note to self – when did refrigerated trucks come into being for the transport of fressh food ?}

And so I don’t have any early cafe pictures.

But now it is a different story.  Eating out is common but so is a visit to a cafe simply for a coffee.  Sometimes it is in the company of a friend but often in the company of a book.

barwon-edge-21

Barwon Edge is built on the river flats of the Barwon River at Geelong.  It used to be a Turf Farm but a few years ago the drought forced the transfer of the Turf Farm to another district.  We lost a Turf Farm but we gained a most attractive restaurant/cafe on the bank above the river, level with the tree tops.
 
 

 

Barwon EdgeBarwon Edge - river
 

 

 

 

 

It provides a coffee break for people using the walking path along the river. It is also a popular place for friends to meet for lunch.   On the other side, away from the river, remains a large grassed area and at the front door three pools provide a place  for displays of feeding the fish.  A pleasant interlude between two suburbs.

 

Barwon Edge - lunchbarwon-edge-1

 

 

 

 

 

But if it’s just coffee and a book there’s no need for a cafe – just a takeaway coffee in the car down at the Balliang Sanctuary a hop, step and a jump along the river from Barwon Edge.  Lots of lovely water birds to watch.

Or why bother with a cafe when you can have it all at home – food, coffee, book, cryptic crossword , radio, TV program,  remote control, everything  but the kitchen sink at your fingertips.

Dinner 2balliang3

 

 

 

 
 

 

And for more Cafe related stories go to this week’s Sepia Saturday

14 thoughts on “From Eating In to Eating Out

  1. jofeath

    Nice photographs. Chips are always a bit of a gamble at fish ‘n chipperies, as they are horrible if greasy. I thnk we stopped for coffee or lunch at the Barwon Edge when cycling around the river there once. I’ve read and enjoyed JK Rowling’s later two adult novels, but not Casual Vacancy. Is it good?

    Like

    Reply
    1. ScotSue

      Hi, Jo – re J.K. Rowling’s “Casual Vacancy”, I must admit I gave up on it and I rarely do that with a book. The basic story line appealed to me, but not its execution. It is of blockbuster length, with a great many characters (many unlikable) and a wordy writing style. After scenes of rampant teenage hormones, a too realistic portrayal of current school life and a highly descriptive visit to a drug-ridden sink estate, I decided this was too depressing and gritty for my bedtime reading, and I just wasn’t interested enough in finding out more. You may well view it differently!

      Like

      Reply
    2. boundforoz Post author

      I found Casual Vacancy a bit strange. I almost had the feeling Rowling was having trouble transferring to writing for adults after writing for younger people for so long. The action in the story seemed to be controlled by the teenagers. I preferred her later books which fit in with the formula for adult novels.

      Like

      Reply
  2. jamestaylor

    Ah, now that I’ve had my fix of Bound for Oz, I can face the daily grind. So many thoughts are swirling around inside my head: a stop-off at the Robur tea rooms in Swanston Street when I was a wee-un; precariously perched on stools at the newly-opened Coles cafeteria; so many country spots called the “Blue Moon Café” and eating fishenchips (one word) from a parcel wrapped inside last week’s news while walking home from the footy.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Mike Brubaker

    Certain foods are my way of judging a restaurant’s quality, and chips\fries make a great test. I had a favorite fish-n-chip shop near London’s Victoria station which was my first experience with those delicious “dirty” chips. Rarely equaled!

    Like

    Reply
  4. La Nightingail

    And then there’s Starbucks! As for chips – sweet potato fries are the best! Or maybe Tater Tots. They’re terrible for you, but sooo tasty.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Barbara

    I read the Casual Vacancy on the way home from Australia to the UK – sadly it wasn’t very entertaining. Our son lives in Adelaide but we spent a few days in Melbourne while the Moomba Festival was on. I really enjoyed all your photos, thank you for sharing them.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Deb Gould

    We’ve got a local coffee shop that provides ALL of that: fresh coffee, baked goods, outdoor/indoor tables for folks reading, working on laptops and tablets, chatting…when you find a place like that, you tend to be loyal!

    Like

    Reply
  7. ScotSue

    Eating a paper poke of fish and chips from the fish & chips shop always sounded very appealing, but somehow the actuality never matched the anticipation. Apart from the top few chips, the rest got soggy and cooled down very quickly. Best eaten of course out of doors, preferably at the seaside – and not in the car – my husband hated the smell that was left for ages afterwards. . .

    Like

    Reply
  8. hmchargue

    Reading about fish and chips makes my mouth water. I loved the smell of the greasy chips with malt vinegar sprinkled over them. There was a specific balance to achieve between grease, vinegar and salt – when you got it right, ahhhh…it was divine. Everywhere I travel I try the local chips to see if anyone can match those of my childhood memories and they rarely do. Thanks James for the correct spelling…fishenchips. Been doing it wrong my whole life. This was a lovely read and I agree that home is usually best, but a good cafe can be the perfect place at those certain times.

    Like

    Reply
  9. luvviealex

    I hear you about Casual Vacancy. I finished it but none of the characters were likeable which is a difficult task to ask of a reader….I love going to cafes and watching the world go by.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Wendy

    You make sitting in a cafe, sipping coffee, and reading a book seem so peaceful, so relaxing. In the US, that looks like loitering. I never thought about that until my trip to Italy where people sat for hours in restaurants chatting and enjoying each other and more wine, of course. Here in the US, restaurant owners want people in and out quickly in order to serve MORE customers and make MORE money.

    Like

    Reply
  11. Joan

    well, that was a wonderful full circle trip— from not eating out, to eating out, and finally the joys of eating in. What more could one ask for, a well cooked meal, hot tea, good lighting, good book — and the tv remotes for emergency use only. Great post;.

    Like

    Reply

Your comments are most welcome. It's nice meeting you.

